We’ve often been taught since childhood that the World is divided into seven different parts or continents.

So, We have seven continents right?


Scientists and Geologists have discovered the 8th continent. The 8th Continent is called Zealandia. It’s having an area of 4.9 million square kilometers, making it the smallest continent in the world.

A group of Geologists has researched and submitted a paper which proposed Zealandia to be a continent.

It is situated in the east of Australia and includes New Zealand, and New Caledonia as well.

These are the current list of the seven continents:
1) Africa
3)North America
4) South America
6) Europe and

A lot more about Zealandia has been mentioned in the paper submitted by Geologists which is titled as “Zealandia: Earth’s Hidden Continent.”

There are certain things a mass of land has to pass to be declared a continent.

Things such as having an area more than a microcontinent, Having three types of rocks – igneous, sedimentary and metamorphic, and also has “high elevation about regions floored by oceanic crust.”

They say:

“The scientific value of classifying Zealandia as a continent is much more than just an extra name on a list. That a continent can be so submerged yet unfragmented makes it a useful and thought-provoking geodynamic end member in exploring the cohesion and breakup of continental crust.”

Truly fascinating right?